## PRESS RELEASE

The Volunteer Lawyer Program of Southwestern Indiana and The Evansville Bar Association 123 N.W. Fourth St., Evansville IN 47708

For Release: October 17, 2:00 PM

contact: EBA: Susan Helfrich, 812 426-1712

VLP: Beverly Corn, 812 434-4886

Southwestern Indiana Attorneys Honored by
The Evansville Bar Association and
The Volunteer Lawyer Program
Of Southwestern Indiana

Evansville IN: The Volunteer Lawyer Program of Southwestern Indiana (VLP) and the Evansville Bar Association (EBA) are pleased to announce that the following awards were presented at a joint meeting of the two organizations on October 17, 2007.

Awards presented by the Evansville Bar Association

The EBA Board of Director's Spirit of Justice Award presented to Hon. Brett Niemeier

The EBA Board of Directors Spirit of Justice Award was presented to Judge Brett Niemeier of the Vanderburgh Superior Court.

Brett Niemeier, was elected Vanderburgh County Superior Court Judge in 2001, responsible for all county cases involving juveniles who are adjudicated to be children in need of services or delinquents. From 1992-2001, he was the chief trial prosecutor for Vanderburgh County. Judge Niemeier has initiated programs in collaboration with Evansville Vanderburgh School Corporation, Youth Care Center, and Lampion Center. Initiatives include a truancy program,

parent's drug court, an alternative high school classroom, a mentor program, a churches embracing offenders program, a juvenile drug court, and the EBF/EBA special favorite, Vanderburgh County Teen Court. He also supervises cases involving child custody, support issues, and estates. He was instrumental in achieving the Youth Care Center expansion that includes housing for females for the first time. Judge Niemeier has received outstanding community service awards from the Youth Service Bureau, Substance Abuse Council, Lampion Center, and Court Appointed Special Advocates.

The EBA Board of Directors Spirit of Justice Award is presented to someone who goes beyond the "norm" to insure that a client or clients obtain justice through the court system

## The EBA Pro Bono Award presented to Legal Aid Society Board of Director Attorney Members

The EBA Pro Bono Award was presented to Legal Aid Society Board of Directors members David Guerrettaz, President, Karen Heard, Vice President, Cathy Nestrick, Secretary. Scott Wylie, Treasurer, and Board Members Angela Freel and David Kent. These attorneys devote countless hours to insuring that the first line of service to our low-income clients is properly funded, supported by the legal community, and operated at the highest level of efficiency and effectiveness.

To quote the nomination of these six persons: "The Attorney members of the Board of Directors of the Legal Aid Society are the backbone of the organization.....They support, 'advertise,' speak highly of, and when needed, defend LAS and its staff. They provide legal advice to the director and staff attorneys when needed. ....They help orient other board members who are non-lawyers....often appointed for political reasons and start their service with no understanding of the mission or passion for the work."

The EBA Pro Bono Award is presented annually to recognize exemplary legal services without a fee to person of limited means or charitable organizations.

## EBA Doran Perdue Service Award presented to Evelyn Oeth Sanders

Evelyn Oeth Sanders was passed away on Saturday, February 17, at the age of 98. Mrs. Sanders was the patron of the John L. Sanders – Evansville Bar Foundation, endowing the Foundation that bears her husband's name.

Although she would not accept any recognition during her life, Mrs. Sanders was responsible for beginning the opportunities for our legal community to fund programs that will educate our community's youth, keep the courthouse doors open for our low-income citizens, and improve the practice of law for our members. Through her generosity, the Foundation provided the seed

money for the Vanderburgh County Teen Court, funds the EVSC "We the People" program, has supported the diversity efforts of the EBA, programs for Vanderburgh County Drug Court, and a variety of other public service organizations that focus on the law in our community. Mrs. Sanders truly deserves the EBA Doran Perdue Service Award, and history should record her generosity and service to the Evansville Legal Community.

## Awards presented by the Volunteer Lawyer Program of Southwestern Indiana

The Volunteer Lawyer Program of Southwestern Indiana, Inc. recognized several local lawyers for their service to meeting the needs of low income individuals by presenting them with Pro Bono Service Awards. Those recognized were: **Gerald Allega, Jessica McCarthy, Todd Glass, James McEntarfer and Sherry Smith.** Also recognized was **Garvin Senn** as the Staff Attorney Of The Year for his commitment to providing legal representation to low income individuals through Legal Aid Society of Evansville, Inc as well as his participation in various projects through the Volunteer Lawyer Program.

In 2006, volunteer lawyers provided 2,225 hours of free legal services to individuals throughout 11 counties in southwestern Indiana. Those counties are: Knox, Martin, Daviess, Pike, Dubois, Perry, Spencer, Warrick, Gibson, Posey and Vanderburgh. The Volunteer Lawyer Program has been in existence since 2001 and is a co-sponsor of the monthly Talk To A Lawyer Program the first Thursday of each month.